A closer look at penalties for drunk driving in Texas
If you were arrested for DWI, you need an experienced defense lawyer. You will benefit from being informed and understanding your options. The state of Texas does not take DWI offenses lightly. Even a first-time offender can face harsh penalties. The consequences are even more severe if you are charged with a second or subsequent offense. The best way to protect your legal rights after a DWI arrest is to contact a Houston Area criminal defense lawyer. Call 1-800-395-5951 to schedule a free consultation with Amanda Webb - DWI Lawyer. Attorney Webb understands the law and understands what individuals charged with DWI are experiencing. You can openly discuss your options with attorney Webb and feel confident that your case is in the right hands.
Conviction may lead to fines, jail sentence
DWI is a criminal offense, with penalties ranging from fines to lengthy jail sentences, depending on the circumstances. The following is a breakdown of DWI criminal penalties in Texas: • First offense - Possible fine of up to $2,000; possible jail time between 3 days and 180 days; loss of driver's license for 90 days to 365 days. • Second offense - Possible fine of up to $4,000; possible jail sentence of 30 days to 365 days; loss of driver's license for 180 days to 2 years. • Third offense - Possible fine of up to $10,000; possible jail sentence of 2 years to 10 years; loss of driver's license for 180 days to 2 years. If there are other factors, such as a DWI with an open alcohol container, a DWI with a child passenger, or a DWI linked to an accident causing serious personal injury, the individual charged may face even greater penalties. What many people might not realize is that a person charged with DWI will face civil penalties in addition to the criminal case. These penalties come in the form of surcharges, which range from $1,000 a year for three years to $2,000 a year for three years, depending on the circumstances of the arrest. Visit our DWI surcharges page to read more details.
How a lawyer in Texas can help you fight
DWI penalties in Texas can not only jeopardize your freedom, but they also can have a serious impact on your ability to earn money to make a living and support yourself or your family. You need an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Texas who can protect your rights and fight for you. Call 1-800-395-5951. See how attorney Webb can help you get your life back on track.