What you should know about drunk driving charges in Texas
Getting arrested for drunk driving is an unnerving experience. The impact of the arrest can be felt for years to come. A conviction for drunk driving can lead to any number of penalties, such as:
- Significant fines
- Loss of driver's license
- $3,000 fee to reinstate your license
- Jail sentence
If you were arrested for DWI, you will need a strong fighter in your corner. Amanda Webb - DWI Lawyer takes every DWI case very seriously. Whether you were arrested because you made a bad decision and drove after having too much to drink or whether you were unfairly charged with drunk driving, attorney Webb can fight for your rights and your freedom. Contact the law firm today. Call 1-800-395-5951.
In Texas, the blood alcohol concentration limit is .08 percent
Anyone who is driving an automobile while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or anyone who drives while visibly intoxicated, may be charged with DWI (known in some parts of the country as DUI, or simply drunk driving). In the state of Texas, the legal blood alcohol concentration is .08 percent. Drivers under 21 who have any trace of alcohol in their system can be charged with DWI. Police officers typically will conduct a field sobriety test, or a blood or breath test, to determine if the operator should be charged with DWI.
Police may stop a suspected drunk driver if they see the vehicle weaving between lanes or the motorist otherwise driving erratically. If you are stopped by a police officer in Texas, you should be polite, because the officer looks for behaviors that may prove you are intoxicated. The officer may check your car for open containers, or see if you are slurring your words or having difficulty answering questions.
What happens after a DWI arrest?
Any of these visible signs can lead to a breath test and a field sobriety test. The officer may arrest you for DWI if you fail the breath test, or field sobriety test. Keep in mind that a skilled DWI attorney like attorney Webb knows how to challenge these tests in court and win a dismissal of the charges.
A DWI arrest in Texas can be frustrating. You may be facing steep fines and surcharges, not to mention jail time, but the DWI charge doesn't have to ruin your life. It's important to contact an experienced defense lawyer as soon as possible if you are charged with DWI. An attorney who is well versed in state laws may be able to help you avoid a DWI conviction.
Attorney Webb has the experience and resources that people charged with DWI need to fight for their legal rights. Attorney Webb has a record of getting people charged with DWI the positive results they need. Even if you receive a DWI conviction, you can rely on a tough-minded attorney to help with your DWI appeal or DWI expungement (which means you can have a clean record if your DWI is erased, or expunged, so it will be as if the DWI arrest never took place).
What are common mistakes police make when making DWI arrests?
In order to arrest you for a DWI offense, police must have probable cause. In other words, that means a police officer must have reasonable suspicion that a crime is being committed to stop you. Common mistakes police officers make include:
- Stopping you on a “hunch”
- Stopping you based on an anonymous call with no prior observations
- Stopping you for driving too slow or too fast without more proof
- Stopping you for weaving within a single lane
- Stopping you just to check for your driver’s license and registration
- Following you to your home without permission or probable cause
- Failure to follow their own DWI training
- Failure to follow Texas Breath Alcohol Testing Regulations
- Detaining you for longer than necessary
- Basing an arrest on your statements alone
- Arresting people who aren’t actually intoxicated
When your freedom is at stake, it’s time to get serious. If you were arrested for drunk driving, contact Texas DWI attorney Amanda Webb right away.
What if I failed a breath test?
Breath and blood tests are pieces of evidence, but that doesn’t mean an experienced DWI defense attorney can’t challenge that evidence or raise doubts about the test results. Remember, the breath tester only estimates your blood alcohol content and there is a lot of room for error.
What happens if you are convicted of DWI in Texas?
If you get convicted of DWI in Texas, you will likely face hefty fines and penalties, including:
- First Offense – Arrest and jail time between 3-180 days, a fine of up to $2,000, loss of your driver’s license for up to a year, and up to $6,000 in a state traffic fine.
- Second Offense – Arrest and jail time between 1-12 months, a fine of up to $4,000, loss of your driver’s license for up to 2 years, and up to $6,000 in a state traffic fine.
- Third Offense – Arrest and jail time between 2-10 years, a $10,000 fine, loss of your driver’s license for up to 2 years, and up to $6,000 in a state traffic fine.
- DWI with a Child Passenger – Arrest and up to 2 years in jail, loss of your driver’s license for 180 days, a fine of up to $10,000.
Under Texas law, if you are convicted of DWI two or more times in 5 years, you will also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, at your expense.
How can a Texas DWI lawyer help me?
An experienced DWI defense attorney will have a clear understanding of the drunk driving laws in Texas and be familiar with the Texas court system. A DWI attorney can also protect your personal and financial interests by:
- Negotiating a plea bargain on your behalf
- Retaining your right to drive
- Helping you avoid costly insurance surcharges and other fees
- Getting your charges reduced or completely dropped
If you want to know how Texas DWI defense attorney Amanda Webb can help with your DWI arrest, contact us today.