DWI With a Child Passenger
An arrest for drunk driving with a child is a serious offense in Texas
A driver who is pulled over for DWI and who has a child under 15 years old in the vehicle will face severe penalties in Texas. While generally a DWI is a misdemeanor offense, a DWI with a child passenger is considered a felony, which carries a possible state prison sentence of between 180 days and two years and a fine up to $10,000.
If you were arrested and charged with DWI while driving with a child, it's important to contact a criminal defense lawyer in Texas. For a free consultation, call 1-800-395-5951. Joseph LaBella has more than 20 years experience handling all types of criminal cases, including DWI cases. Attorney LaBella is well versed in state and federal laws and knows how to present a strong defense that will improve your chances of getting the result you need.
No one wants to endanger a child, and that's why the state has created harsh penalties for offenders. However, every case is unique. There may be extenuating circumstances that could lead to a dismissal or a lesser charge. The police officer or prosecutor may overreach. For example, you can be charged with this crime even if you have not failed a field sobriety test or a breathalyzer. The officer only needs to use his or her "judgment" to determine that you were intoxicated to some extent. You need a strong advocate who can help disprove the drunk driving charge.
Attorney LaBella will leave no stone unturned in mounting your defense.
Call an experienced DWI defense lawyer in Texas
A DWI with a child passenger charge does not have to ruin your life. Call 1-800-395-5951 to speak with an experienced legal professional about your options. Contact Joseph LaBella & Associates today.