Types of DWI charges
A closer look at different types of drunk driving charges in Texas
There are different types of DWI charges, depending on the circumstances. If you are arrested for DWI for the first time, you will face a lighter penalty than a second DWI offense or third DWI offense. Even first-time offenders, however, can face serious consequences. A conviction remains on your criminal record for the rest of your life.
In Texas, you can be charged with drunk driving if your blood alcohol level is over .08 percent. If a prosecutor proves your blood alcohol content was more than .15 and you were a first-time offender, you will face a more severe punishment than someone who is under the .15 threshold, but above .08. You will be treated as a second-offense drunk driver.
Houston Area DWI defense lawyer Joseph LaBella has more than 20 years' experience handling all types of DWI cases in Texas. He is well versed in state and federal laws and has a record of obtaining successful results for clients.
Contact an experienced Texas DWI defense lawyer
If you were arrested for drunk driving in Texas, you will need an aggressive and knowledgeable attorney. To arrange a free consultation, call 1-800-395-5951. Choose a lawyer you can trust.